The Fountains of Silence

The Fountains of Silence

by Ruta Septys

Sepetys follows four people from 1950’s Madrid when Spain is under the rule of Francisco Franco. Rafa works at a slaughterhouse and is tormented by the memory of his father’s murder, which he and his sisters, Julia and Ana, witnessed firsthand, at the hands of Franco’s guards. Ana is a maid in a hotel and dreams of leaving Spain. She is drawn to a guest named Daniel. Puri works with babies at an orphanage—some may have been stolen from their parents. Daniel returns to Madrid after Franco’s death and discovers a shocking secret.

Teen Services Recommended by Teen Services

View in catalog

« Return to recommendations