We are experiencing periodic internet outages. Please call before your visit for a current update.

We're open! No appointment needed to visit: What you need to know.
Call 708-215-3207 for curbside holds pick up.

Within These Lines

Within These Lines

by Stephanie Morrill

No waiting available on Hoopla: https://bit.ly/3fzoDhY

Set against the backdrop of World War II, Italian-American Evalina, and the son of Japanese immigrants, Taichi, are never supposed to be together. In fact, such a marriage would be deemed illegal in California at the time. Yet they are in love and determined to eventually get married. Then comes Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are evacuated to an internment camp. This is a period in American history that is not represented much in fiction, and Morrill shows the nitty-gritty of this sad time. Perfect for fans of Ruta Septys, Monica Hesse and Elizabeth Wein.

Hoopla e-book: Within These Lines

Hoopla audiobook: Within These Lines

Teen Services Recommended by Teen Services

View in catalog

« Return to recommendations