New Kid

New Kid

by Jerry Craft

7th grader Jordan loves to write comics about his life and dreams of going to art school. When his parents send him to a private academic school instead, he finds that he is one of the only kids of color in his grade and struggles to find his place. Published in 2019, New Kid was the winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature. This emotionally honest graphic novel is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier. Recommended for grades 4 and up.

Children's Services Recommended by Children's Services

View in catalog

« Return to recommendations