They Went Left

They Went Left

by Monica Hesse

Also available via Overdrive: https://bit.ly/3oDkBLA

During the Nazi deathcamps, Zofia watches helplessly as member after member of her family goes left to the gas chambers and shooting squads. Yet, she clings to the hope of be eventually reuniting with her brother Abek. But once liberated, Zofia returns home only to find destruction, anti-Semitism, and no Abek. Desperate to locate her brother, Zofia travels across Europe, visiting refugee camps, church orphanages and country farms, searching for any information that might lead to Abek. This fictionalized account of post-Holocaust Europe and the Jewish experience is perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Light in Hidden Places.

Overdrive e-book: They Went Left

Physical BookThey Went Left

Teen Services Recommended by Teen Services

View in catalog

« Return to recommendations